Tuesday, January 29, 2008

State of the Union address

I just caught the last few minutes of the State of the Union address. What a joke. Here we have George Bush and Dick Cheney, an ex-oil man and ex-CEO of Enron, quoting the constitution and in particular, using the phrase "we the people" to describe who has the power in the United States. With a hunched-over gargoyle behind his right shoulder, George Bush proceeds to say that (paraphased from memory) as long as we trust in the people, we'll be just dandy. Does anyone know what the hell that means in context? Because it sure sounds like a lot of CRAP to me. What did he trust us with? When did he show this supposed trust? Because all I can think of rightoff is the damn USA Patriot Act, and that sure didn't show a whole hell of a lot of trust. So here we are, listening to Bush mouth off about trust and liberty, and over his left shoulder is Nancy Pelosi, Ms. "empeachment is off the table." All Bush has to do is use the word "soldier" or "veteran", and it's like somebody pulled the damned Democrat's strings. They all start clapping wildly and giving standing ovations. I'll have to remember that for the next argument I'm in. So there I am, having a disagreement with a co-worker in the office about how to write a proposal, and if things go badly for me, I'll just throw out the word "veteran" and watch everyone gather round and start clapping for me.

What the hell is the problem with our leaders? Are Pelosi and the rest of the Democrats so cowardly and spineless that they are going to jump whenever he says magic words? Or is it something more insulting to us? Do they think we are so stupid and mindless that we will turn against them if they don't snap to it when soldiers are mentioned? But actually, as I gain years behind me and I see what this country is really all about, maybe that is simply the way it is, and we really would turn against them if they uttered something that we disagreed with. Maybe they are in tune with this nation, and we're a big pile of pro-nationalist, warmongering, conservative, self-centered schmucks, and I just never knew it.

If I had my way, the Democrats would be stomping their feet throughout the entire State of the Union address in protest of this presidency. Watching Bush talk about "the people" like we're in charge, and then seeing Pelosi and the Democrats all kissing ass in unison makes me sick. I am bankrupt of hope, because clearly, there is none. Why don't people like Kucinich, Nader, or Ron Paul have a shot? Surely people can see that the status quo is only hurting this country. Dammit, try something new! Shake things up! Something needs to change in this country.

No comments: